Last night, Prime Video hosted a premiere screening of The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power in Mexico City. Many of the cast and crew were on hand along with some lucky Ringers in attendance.

More details from Prime Video’s official press release:

MEXICO CITY, MEXICO – On Wednesday, August 17th, Prime Video hosted a Red Carpet and Premiere Screening event in celebration of “THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE RINGS OF POWER” at Colegio Vizcainas. Over 100 media, core fans and local celebrities and industry partners were thrilled to welcome the cast of THE RINGS OF POWER into the stunning Middle-earth environment constructed in the courtyard of this historic, stately 18th century convent school.

The screening opened with remarks by: Jen Salke, Head of Prime Video, followed by Showrunner Patrick McKay & Episodes 1 & 2 Director JA Bayona who introduced the cast onstage.

ATTENDEES:

Showrunner: Patrick McKay

Director/Executive Producer: JA Bayona

Cast: Benjamin Walker, Charlie Vickers, Ismael Cruz Córdova, Leon Wadham, Morfydd Clark, Owain Arthur, Sophia Nomvete, Trystan Gravelle

Amazon Executives: Jennifer Salke, Kelly Day, Kari Roe, Sue Kroll, Dan Scharf, Joao Ferraz de Mesquita, Pablo Iacovello, Paulo Koelle, Ingrid Auyon Garcia, David Miller

The countdown is on for the premiere of The Rings of Power at the Colegio de San Ignacio de Loyola Vizcaínas in Mexico City and fans are already queueing outside.

The Mexico City Rings of Power premiere. Source: @Ingravitie.

Looks pretty sweet inside, too!

Interior setup for The Mexico City Rings of Power premiere. Source: Terra-média Brasil.

We were delighted to be able to hook many up with tickets to the event.

We’re hoping that, afterwards, some will be able to pop onto our Discord (which has just hit 3,000 members!) and give us some details about the experience.

And it looks like a few of the cast are set to be in attendance, too.

Update 19/08: I’m told that the above video is from San Diego Comic-Con. My bad! Still very cool though, and ta for the heads-up!

It appears that some, uh, overly enterprising leakers thought they could make a quick buck by posting the full OST of The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power to YouTube.

It was quickly caught and deleted. But, in the meantime, we were able discover a little over half of the track titles — and they provide interesting hints of what’s soon to come. Of the 37 tracks on the OST, the title theme is composed by Howard Shore, while the other 36 are by Bear McCreary.

Below are the titles of the first 19:

  • 01. The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power Main Title
  • 02. Galadriel
  • 03. Khazad-dûm
  • 04. Nori Brandyfoot
  • 05. The Stranger
  • 06. Númenor
  • 07. Sauron
  • 08. Valinor
  • 09. In the Beginning
  • 10. Elrond Half-elven
  • 11. Durin IV
  • 12. Harfoot Life
  • 13. Bronwyn and Arondir
  • 14. Halbrand
  • 15. The Boat
  • 16. Sundering Seas
  • 17. Nobody Goes Off Trail
  • 18. Elendil and Isildur
  • 19. White Leaves

We can also now add the remaining track titles

  • 20. The Secrets of the Mountain
  • 21. Nolwa Mahtar
  • 22. Nampat
  • 23. A Plea to the Rocks
  • 24. This Wandering Day
  • 25. Scherzo for Violin and Swords
  • 26. Sailing into the Dawn
  • 27. For the Southlands
  • 28. Cavalry
  • 29. Water and Flame
  • 30. In the Mines
  • 31. The Veil of Smoke
  • 32. The Mystics
  • 33. Perilous Whisperings
  • 34. The Broken Line
  • 35. Wise One
  • 36. True Creation Requires Sacrifice
  • 37. Where the Shadows Lie

TORn does not condone piracy. Remember that the official release is around the corner, folks. You’ll very soon be able to stream the music to your heart’s delight via your favourite service, or even pick up a copy on physical media.

We are finally going back to Middle-earth and we get to see so many more places than we’ve ever been able to visit before on Tolkien’s map.

Juan Antonio ‘J.A.’ Bayona (Photo by Stuart Wilson/Getty Images)

Amazon Prime has finally released the full airing schedule, as shown below. Start marking your calendars to remind you when you can watch the show.

The first two episodes will drop together, and these are the episodes directed by J.A. Bayona. Because they drop together, it is important to note that the first episode is entitled “Shadow of the Past” so that you start off with the correct episode. These will become available on Amazon Prime on Thursday, September 1 starting at 6 pm PT, 9 pm ET and 2 am UK time early Friday, September 2. You will want to sync this info up with your own time zone.

The remaining episodes will drop once a week afterward, starting with Episode 3 on Thursday, September 8 at 9 pm PT, Midnight ET, and 5 am UK time on Friday, September 9, and continue on that same schedule. The 8th episode finale will air on Thursday, October 13 at 9 pm PT, Midnight ET and 5 am UK Time on Friday, October 14. The full schedule is posted below!

Global release occurs on either September 1, 2022 or September 2, 2022 depending on your location

  • The first TWO episodes will debut together on release night.
  • Release night timing is the following: September 1, 2022 at 6 PM PT which is 2 AM UK Time on September 2, 2022.
  • Both Episode 1 and 2 will be available immidiately. Amazon Studios suggests you ensure you first choose Episode 1 titled “SHADOW OF THE PAST” for the best viewing experience. Don’t choose the second episode first by accident!
  • Episodes 3 to 8 will be singular weekly releases. That is, one episode per week. These episodes will air at 9 PM PT each Thursday. This corresponds to 5 AM UK Time Friday.

The week-by-week Rings of Power schedule

Week 1: Episode 1+2

Episode 1+2 will be available at 6 PM PT THURSDAY NIGHT on September 1, 2022. This is equal to 2 AM UK Time on FRIDAY MORNING, September 2, 2022.

Other location conversions:

Auckland: 1.00pm Friday; Sydney: 11.00am Friday; Tokyo: 10.00am Friday; Singapore: 9.00am Friday; Mumbai: 6.30am Friday; Cairo/Paris: 3.00am Friday; London: 2.00am Friday; Rio de Janeiro: 10.00pm Thursday; New York: 9.00pm Thursday; Chicago: 8.00pm Thursday.

Week 2: Episode 3

Episode 3 will be available at 9 PM PT THURSDAY NIGHT on September 8, 2022. This is equal to 5 AM UK Time on FRIDAY MORNING, September 9, 2022.

Other location conversions:

Auckland: 4.00pm Friday; Sydney: 2.00pm Friday; Tokyo: 1.00pm Friday; Singapore: 12.00 NOON Friday; Mumbai: 9.30am Friday; Cairo/Paris: 6.00am Friday; London: 5.00am Friday; Rio de Janeiro: 1.00am Friday; New York: 12.00 MIDNIGHT Friday; Chicago: 11.00pm Thursday.

Week 3: Episode 4

Episode 4 will be available at 9 PM PT THURSDAY NIGHT on September 15, 2022. This is equal to 5 AM UK Time FRIDAY MORNING, September 16, 2022.

Other location conversions:

Auckland: 4.00pm Friday; Sydney: 2.00pm Friday; Tokyo: 1.00pm Friday; Singapore: 12.00 NOON Friday; Mumbai: 9.30am Friday; Cairo/Paris: 6.00am Friday; London: 5.00am Friday; Rio de Janeiro: 1.00am Friday; New York: 12.00 MIDNIGHT Friday; Chicago: 11.00pm Thursday.

Week 4: Episode 5

Episode 5 will be available at 9 PM PT THURSDAY NIGHT on September 22, 2022. This is equal to 5 AM UK Time FRIDAY MORNING, September 23, 2022.

Other location conversions:

Auckland: 4.00pm Friday; Sydney: 2.00pm Friday; Tokyo: 1.00pm Friday; Singapore: 12.00 NOON Friday; Mumbai: 9.30am Friday; Cairo/Paris: 6.00am Friday; London: 5.00am Friday; Rio de Janeiro: 1.00am Friday; New York: 12.00 MIDNIGHT Friday; Chicago: 11.00pm Thursday.

Week 5: Episode 6

Episode 6 will be available at 9 PM PT THURSDAY NIGHT on September 29, 2022. This is equal to 5 AM UK Time FRIDAY MORNING, September 30, 2022.

Other location conversions:

Auckland: 4.00pm Friday; Sydney: 2.00pm Friday; Tokyo: 1.00pm Friday; Singapore: 12.00 NOON Friday; Mumbai: 9.30am Friday; Cairo/Paris: 6.00am Friday; London: 5.00am Friday; Rio de Janeiro: 1.00am Friday; New York: 12.00 MIDNIGHT Friday; Chicago: 11.00pm Thursday.

Week 6: Episode 7

Episode 7 will be available at 9 PM PT THURSDAY NIGHT on October 6, 2022. This is equal to 5 AM UK Time FRIDAY MORNING, October 7th, 2022.

Other location conversions:

Auckland: 4.00pm Friday; Sydney: 2.00pm Friday; Tokyo: 1.00pm Friday; Singapore: 12.00 NOON Friday; Mumbai: 9.30am Friday; Cairo/Paris: 6.00am Friday; London: 5.00am Friday; Rio de Janeiro: 1.00am Friday; New York: 12.00 MIDNIGHT Friday; Chicago: 11.00pm Thursday.

Week 7: Episode 8

Episode 8 will be available at 9 PM PT THURSDAY NIGHT on October 13, 2022. This is equal to 5 AM UK Time FRIDAY MORNING, October 14th, 2022.

Other location conversions:

Auckland: 4.00pm Friday; Sydney: 2.00pm Friday; Tokyo: 1.00pm Friday; Singapore: 12.00 NOON Friday; Mumbai: 9.30am Friday; Cairo/Paris: 6.00am Friday; London: 5.00am Friday; Rio de Janeiro: 1.00am Friday; New York: 12.00 MIDNIGHT Friday; Chicago: 11.00pm Thursday.

Viewing plans

With this schedule, you should be able to plan a Viewing Party or two, for Debut night and Finale night, if not all 7 weeks. If you choose to do so, please do share in the fun with our Twitter/Facebook/Discord social channel of choice and let us know your thoughts. There will also be some live posting, especially in our Discord on show nights, so come play along during the show, or directly afterward for a discussion on what you have just seen.

Last night, Prime Video held a premiere celebration for The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power in Culver City, California. Making use of their new Culver Studios location (and the next door movie theatre), Prime Video hosted cast and crew with a Middle-earth themed red carpet, complete with drone show. Simon Tolkien, the Professor’s grandson, was also in attendance, along with many of the cast, creators and crew.

Here’s Prime Video’s official press release:

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA – On Monday, August 15th, Prime Video hosted a Red Carpet and Premiere Screening event in celebration of “THE LORD OF THE RINGS: THE RINGS OF POWER” at The Culver Studios. Fans and industry alike erupted with excitement as the cast of THE RINGS OF POWER arrived at the beautifully constructed Middle-earth themed red carpet, which was inspired by some of the character costumes seen in the show. The screening opened with remarks by: Jen Salke, Head of Prime Video, followed by Showrunners J.D. Payne and Patrick McKay.

Afterward, the cast, creators and guests celebrated the series’ premiere at The Culver Studios closing out the night. Guests were surprised when, 45 minutes into the party, a drone show filled the night sky over the Mansion, consisting of images they had seen during the screening of the first two episodes. It opened with the beautiful white paper swan from the opening shot of the series. The drones then morphed into other images including symbolism and iconography from the series before concluding dramatically with the Prime Video logo.

ATTENDEES:

Showrunners: JD Payne and Patrick McKay

Executive Producers: Lindsey Weber

Director/Executive Producer: JA Bayona

Composer: Bear McCreary

Cast: Benjamin Walker, Charles Edwards, Charlie Vickers, Cynthia Addai-Robinson, Ema Horvath, Ismael Cruz Córdova, Leon Wadham, Lloyd Owen, Markella Kavenagh, Maxim Baldry, Megan Richards, Morfydd Clark, Nazanin Boniadi, Owain Arthur, Robert Aramayo, Sara Zwangobani, Sophia Nomvete, Trystan Gravelle, Tyroe Muhafidin 

Just six weeks ago, it felt like a Rings of Power drought. Now every day there’s a new batch of interviews and reveals. These are via Time Magazine writer Eliana Dockterman. Dockterman was able to shadow and interview the showrunners and key cast at San Diego Comic-Con.

Below are summaries and links to four articles that emerged from that for your reading pleasure.

The Secretive, Extravagant, Bighearted World of The Rings of Power, the Most Expensive Show Ever Made

Tears are streaming down Ismael Cruz Córdova’s chiseled cheekbones. Somehow, hardly anyone notices. I’m at San Diego Comic-Con, halfway through 96 hours spent shadowing the cast and creators of The Rings of Power, Amazon’s highly anticipated Lord of the Rings prequel series. Tomorrow, franchise superfan Stephen Colbert will debut a trailer for the series to 6,500 screaming attendees, many wearing pointy wizard hats. But tonight, at a private dinner, journalists are getting an early preview of the video in a golden faux forest constructed by Amazon for the occasion.

After a day spent among the convention crowd in 80-degree heat, sweaty, sneaker-clad members of the press mingle with actors dressed in cocktail attire: Córdova has chosen a sharp suit with a black leather harness pulled tight across his chest. A 16-person choir and 25-piece orchestra—fronted by a violinist decked out in Middle-earth regalia—perform music from the series.

Read More

11 Rings of Power Secrets We Learned From the Cast and Creators

Spend some time in Middle-earth and you’ll learn a lot of secrets. I shadowed the cast and creators of the much-anticipated Lord of the Rings prequel series, The Rings of Power, for four days at San Diego Comic-Con in July. During my conversations with the showrunners, executive producer, and several members of the cast, I did my best to pick up clues about where the series may be headed—along with details about the immense production behind the epic saga.

and…

If you want to watch the series without knowing anything about what might happen in the show, know that this story contains minor spoilers. Stop reading now. But if you want some background on the series and how Payne and McKay cooked up a story from Tolkien’s notes, forge ahead. I’ve seen two episodes of the show, and the information in this story comes primarily from the appendices.

[Editor’s note: Having read the article, I don’t consider any of this to be much of a spoiler for anyone who’s been casually following press reports and has a passing knowledge of Middle-earth’s Second Age.]

Read More

The Rings of Power Exclusive: Producer Says Fan Theories About Sauron Are Wrong

Fans have spent months speculating when and how he might appear in the show. They’ve combed the various trailers and publicity shots. Some theorize that fans have already seen his image—or at least his Annatar guise. But executive producer Lindsey Weber told TIME the prevailing fan theories may be on the wrong track.

[Editor’s note: This is potentially a spoiler, though I think fandom very quickly discarded the Sauron identity theory that Weber discusses with Time. It would have been much more interesting to address the other (much more compelling) rumour that’s doing the rounds right now. Unfortunately, they don’t even touch on it.]

Read More

This Fan-Favorite Character Is Joining the Second Season of The Rings of Power

McKay and Payne leaned heavily on the appendices to The Lord of the Rings, which trace the rise of Sauron, the creation of the one ring, and the battle between Sauron and the last alliance of elves and men for the soul of Middle-earth. Elves are immortal in Tolkien’s world, so Lord of the Rings fans can expect to see familiar faces like Galadriel (Morfydd Clark) and Elrond (Robert Aramayo). (Both characters also appeared in Peter Jackson’s film trilogy.) But a fan-favorite character has been missing…

[Editor’s note: I guess this could be a minor spoiler for some so I’ve hidden the character’s name behind the link below just to be safe!]

Read More

TIME Rings of Power cover