Glen GoodKnight, founder of the Mythopoeic Society, passed away Wednesday night, November 3rd. Glen founded the Mythopoeic Society in 1967 to further the study of the writings of C.S. Lewis, Charles Williams and J.R.R. Tolkien. In 1970, he organized the first of the now famous Mythcon conventions, still going strong today. Glen was active in the Mythopoeic Society for over 30 years and edited 78 issues of the society’s journal, Mythlore.

Thanks to squire for alerting our community to the sad news via the Reading Room discussion board. In squire’s words: ” I have long admired his dedication to his life’s work: to increase the world’s awareness of the importance of modern mythmakers like Tolkien and his fellow Inklings — to break down the walls of the fantasy ghetto. We on this site, and on this board especially, owe a great debt to him, whether we know it or not. I hope others will join me in wishing him an well-earned and honored rest in the home of his longfathers.” We couldn’t have said it any better, squire. Our sincere condolences go out to to Glen’s family and friends.

Reported by the blog File 770, the winners of the 2010 Mythopoeic Society Awards were announced on July 11 at Mythcon 41 in Dallas.

  • Fantasy Awards, Adult Literature
    Jo Walton, Lifelode (NESFA Press) []
  • Fantasy Awards, Children’s Literature
    Grace Lin, Where the Mountain Meets the Moon (Little, Brown) []
  • Scholarship Awards, Inklings Studies
    Dimitra Fimi, Tolkien, Race, and Cultural History: From Fairies to Hobbits (Palgrave Macmillan, 2009) []
  • Scholarship Awards, Myth and Fantasy Studies
    Marek Oziewicz, One Earth, One People: The Mythopoeic Fantasy Series of Ursula K. Le Guin, Lloyd Alexander, Madeleine L’Engle and Orson Scott Card (McFarland, 2008) []

TORn would like to congratulate the winners! For more information on the Mythopoeic Society and Awards, please visit their website. [Mythopoetic Society]

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2009 that best exemplifies the spirit of the Inklings. Books are eligible for two years after publication if not selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from Young Adults to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

Update: it turns out that one of the nominees for Scholarship in Inklings Studies for “Arda Reconstructed: The Creation of the Published Silmarillion” is none other than message board member Voronwe the Faithful (a.k.a. Douglas Charles Kane). Congratulations and good luck, Doug!

Continue reading “2010 Mythopoeic Award Finalists”