From: Oliver Naujoks, Editor,

Dear Ladies and Gentlemen,

I am one of the editors of one of the leading German internet-magazines
for speculative fiction, hosts one of the three important German awards (“Preis”)
for our field (SF/Fantasy etc.) and opposite to the
“Kurd-Lasswitz-Preis” and the “Deutsche Science-Fiction-Preis”, which
are awarded by a jury, the “Deutsche Phantastik Preis” is voted for by
the public, i.e. the online community.

The German word “Phantastik” has a broader meaning than the Enligsh word
“Fantasy” and encompasses all kinds of speculative and supernatural
fiction, including SF, Fantasy, Horror and everything which is not so
easily classified, but “belongs in there”. That’s why all kinds of
speculative fiction can make it onto this list.

We are proud that this award has gained some importance over the years.
Starting from a small online ballot, it has now several hundreds (for
the nominations) and thousands (for the winners) of voters every year,
is used as a marketing-tool by the big German publishing-houses if one
of their publications wins it, and has been covered on many platforms,
including Locus.

Why is this of interest to you?
Well, many LOTR-related nominees appear on this list, including several
actresses and actors from Return of the King (and the film itself, of
course), and in the category “Best Homepage (International)” you’ll find and your site, while Peter Jackson receives a mention
in “Honorary Award”.

For your convenience, I took the liberty and translated the list into
English, when possible.

Here are the nominations for the “Deutsche Phantasik Preis”.
The voting-phase for the winner starts today and ends on 8/31, the
winners will be announced on the “Buchmessecon” (bookfair-convention)
near Frankfurt on 10/9.


Nominations shortlist of the “Deutsche Phantastik-Preis” 2004:

Novel (German)
Anam Cara – Seelenfreund, Nicole Rensmann (Atlantis)
Der letzte seiner Art, Andreas Eschbach (Luebbe)
Somniferus, Michael Siefener (KBV)
Das Weltennetz – Die Gezeitenwelt 3, Thomas Finn (Piper)
Die Zwerge, Markus Heitz (Heyne)

First Novel (German)
Anam Cara – Seelenfreund, Nicole Rensmann (Atlantis)
Demonwright – Der eiserne Thron, Heidrun Jaenchen, Christian Savoy &
Andrea Tillmanns (Story-Olympiade)
Der Gyt, Timo Bader (Go)
Jenseits des Waechtersteins, Heike Reiter (DuesselArt)
Im Bann des Fluchtraegers, Nina Blazon (Ueberreuther)

Novel (International)
American Gods, Neil Gaiman (Heyne)
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, J.K. Rowling (Carlsen)
Angels & Demons, Dan Brown (Luebbe)
King Rat, China Mieville (Luebbe)
The Dark Tower V: Wolves of the Calla, Stephen King (Heyne)

Bildschirmarbeitsplatz, Bjoern Jagnow (in der “C’T 26/2003”)
Geisterkleister, Linda Budinger (in “Die Nacht der Masken”)
Die korrektive Kunststoffkroete, Robert Kerber (in “Pandaimonion 2”)
Der Schlafgaenger, Markus K. Korb (in “Grausame Staedte”)
Die weissen Schmetterlinge, Frank W. Haubold (in “Nova 3”)

Grausame Staedte (Blitz)
Jakob Rubinstein, Andreas Gruber (Basilisk)
Die Nacht der Masken (Bastei)
andaimonion 2 (Story-Olympiade)
World of Fantasy (Intrag-Publishing)

Printed Series
Bad Earth (Bastei)
Stephen King’s The Dark Tower (Heyne)
Dust (KayDesign/Atlantis)
Maddrax (Bastei)
Perry Rhodan (VPM)

Writer (German)
Andreas Eschbach
Marcus Heitz
Wolfgang Hohlbein
Martin Kay
Markus K. Korb

Writer (International)
Dan Brown
Andreas Gruber
Stephen King
Thomas Ligotti
China Mieville

Motion Picture
Finding Nemo
The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King
Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl

Buffy, the Vampire Slayer
Stargate SG-1

Jennifer Garner, Alias
Sarah Michelle Gellar, Buffy, the Vampire Slayer
Alyson Hannigan, Buffy, the Vampire Slayer
Angelina Jolie, Tomb Raider 2: The Cradle of Life
Liv Tyler, The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

Richard Dean Anderson, Stargate SG-1
Sean Astin, The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King
Johnny Depp, Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl
Hugh Jackman, X2: X-Men United
Viggo Mortensen, The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King

Alien Quadrilogy (Fox)
Babylon 5 (Warner)
Buffy, the Vampire Slayer (Fox)
Dracula – Prince of Darkness (Anolis)
The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers – Extended Edition (Warner)

Edgar Allan Poe-Reihe (Luebbe)
Gabriel Burns (Universal)
John Sinclair (WordArt)
ecrophobia 1 (LPL Records)
Der Schatten ueber Insmouth (LPL Records)

Homepage (German)

Homepage (International)

Honorary Award
Clark Darlton
Werner K. Giesa
Peter Jackson
Wolfgang Jeschke
Stephen King

Flop of the Year
LXG – The League Of Extraordinary Gentlemen
The Matrix Reloaded & Revolutions
mg Verlag
Perry Rhodan
Zaubermond Verlag