Get your tickets to Tolkien today!
Join us in our forums!
Get your tickets to Tolkien today!
Join us on Instagram

Latest Tweets


  2. We got more from our friends at Budk. This time Rohan is getting some love and specifically Eomer. If you’re a prop…

  3. Hear me out: Animal Crossing, but its Treebeard and you are a sapling Ent arranging your small part of the forest

BAFTA Award Nominations 2002

February 23, 2002 at 8:15 pm by Strider  - 

The following represents the categories for which Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring is nominated for a British Academy of Film and Television Arts award.

A Beautiful Mind
The Lord of the Rings
Moulin Rouge

The David Lean Award
for achievement in Direction
Jean-Pierre Jeunet (Amelie)
Ron Howard (A Beautiful Mind)
Robert Altman (Gosford Park)
Peter Jackson (Lord of the Rings)
Baz Luhrmann (Moulin Rouge)

A. Goldsman (A Beautiful Mind)
H. Fielding/A. Davies/R. Curtis (Bridget Jones Diary)
Richard Eyre/Charles Wood (Iris)
F. Walsh/P. Boyens/P. Jackson (Lord of the Rings)
T. Elliott/T. Rossio/J. Stillman/R.S.H. Schulman (Shrek)

by an Actor in a Leading Role
Jim Broadbent (Iris)
Russell Crowe (A Beautiful Mind)
Ian McKellen (The Lord of the Rings)
Kevin Spacey (The Shipping News)
Tom Wilkinson (In the Bedroom)

The Anthony Asquith Award
for achievement in Film Music
Yann Tiersen (Amelie)
Howard Shore (The Lord of the Rings)
Craig Armstrong/Marius De Vries (Moulin Rouge)
Angelo Badalamenti (Mulholland Drive)
Harry Gregson-Williams/John Powell (Shrek)

Bruno Delbonnel (Amelie)
Slawomir Idziak (Black Hawk Down)
Andrew Lesnie (Lord of the Rings)
Roger Deakins (The Man Who Wasn’t There)
Donald M McAlpine (Moulin Rouge)

Production Design
Aline Bonetto (Amelie)
Stephen Altman (Gosford Park)
Stuart Craig (Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone)
Grant Major (The Lord of the Rings)
Catherine Martin (Moulin Rouge)

Costume Design
Jenny Beavan (Gosford Park)
Judianna Makovsky (Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone)
Ngila Dickson/Richard Taylor (Lord of the Rings)
Catherine Martin/Angus Strathie (Moulin Rouge)
Colleen Atwood (Planet of the Apes)

Hervé Schneid (Amelie)
Pietro Scalia (Black Hawk Down)
John Gilbert (Lord of the Rings)
Jill Bilcock (Moulin Rouge)
Mary Sweeney (Mulholland Drive)

C. Munro/P. Hallberg/M. Minkler/M. Nettinga/K. Baker (Black Hawk Down)
J. Midgley/J. Joseph/R. Merrin/G. Daniel/A. Daniel (Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone)
D. Farmer/H. Peek/C. Boyes/G. Creagh/M. Semanick/E. Van der Ryn/M. Hopkins (Lord of the Rings)
A. Nelson/A. Behlmer/R. Savage/G. Sics/G. Vanderhope/A. Gray (Moulin Rouge)
A. Nelson/A. Behlmer/W. Stateman/L. Bender (Shrek)

Achievement In Special Visual Effects
D. Muren/S. Farrar/M. Lantieri (A.I. Artificial Intelligence)
R. Legato/N. Davis/J. Richardson/R. Guyett/J. Berney (Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone)
J.Rygiel/R.Taylor/A. Funke/R. William Cook/M. Stetson (Lord of the Rings)
C. Godfrey/A. Brown/N. McGuinness/B. Cox (Moulin Rouge)
Ken Bielenberg (Shrek)

Make Up/Hair
S. Jaye/J. Archibald (Gosford Park)
A. Knight/E. Fennell/N. Dudman (Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone)
P. Owen/P. King/R. Taylor (Lord of the Rings)
M. Silvi/A. Signoretti (Moulin Rouge)
R. Baker/T. G/K. Tsuji (Planet of the Apes)

For more information, visit the British Academy of Film and Television Arts website at

Posted in Old Special Reports on February 23, 2002 by
Check out the Bilbo Contract from WETA Workshop

Comments are closed.