Support TheOneRing.net - A not for profit fan community!
Join us in our forums!
LEGO Lord of the Rings Collection
Thranduil Statue

News Alerts

Get emailed with every new post!

Weekly Newsletter

Select a list:

Chat with Alan Lee Today!

November 5, 2005 at 9:20 am by xoanon  - 

Everyone is reminded that Alan Lee, the acclaimed LOTR illustrator and Academy Award-winning conceptual designer for the film trilogy, will join us in the Hall of Fire (on the TORn IRC server) on Saturday November 5 at 6pm EST for a live question and answer session.

Alan will be answering questions on his work illustrating Lord of the Rings, his involvement with Peter Jackson and WETA as a conceptual designer for the Lord of the Rings film Trilogy and his new book The Lord of the Rings sketchbook.

The book presents more than 150 of Lee’s celebrated illustrations to show how his imagery for both the illustrated Lord of the Rings and the films progressed from concept to finished art. In addition, the book contains 20 full-color plates and numerous examples of the conceptual art produced for Peter Jackson’s film adaptation.

Alan has been creating fantasy artwork since 1978. He’s illustrated writers such as Dennis L McKiernen, Ursula K. Le Guin and has also worked as a set designer on the films Legend (1985), Erik the Viking (1989) and Merlin (1998).

To celebrate the 100th anniversary of the birth of Tolkien, a new 1,200 page edition of The Lord of the Rings was planned. Alan Lee was chosen as the illustrator. With 50 colour plates, the book was a stunning artistic and commercial success.

This chat will be held on Saturday November 5 at 6pm EST on the TORn IRC server. However, if you can’t make it, you can still submit your question for Alan simply by e-mailing it to us at halloffire@theonering.net. We’ll ask it for you on the day!

Alan’s United States book tour

Alan Lee is currently touring the United States to promote and talk about his new book during October. His events will will feature a slide show, a Q&A with fans, and a booksigning. You can also order your copy from Amazon here.

And if you want to find out more about his tour, including dates and locations, check out Alan’s tour blog! Get along, ask some questions, buy the book and get it signed by Alan, himself.

About the live Q&A

Because we expect a large number of people, this chat will be moderated. That means you’ll pass your questions to us and we’ll ask them on your behalf. The reason we do this is because we don’t want Alan overwhelmed by dozens of people all asking a question at the same time.

Time zone conversions

Not sure what time the chat will be where you are? Check this little conversion table out for some help.

America:
6.00pm EST (New York)
5.00pm CST (Chicago)
4.00pm MST (Salt Lake City)
2.00pm PST (Los Angeles)

Europe:
11.00pm GMT (London)
11.30pm CET (Paris)

Asia-Pacific:
7.00am AWST (Sunday 6th) Perth
9.00am AEST (Sunday 6th) Brisbane
10.00am AEDT (Sunday 6th) Sydney
1.00pm NZDT (Sunday 6th) Wellington

Our chats usually last 45 mins to an hour, and are very newbie friendly. Simply drop in and join the conversation!

Where?

Chat happens on #thehalloffire on irc.theonering.net – the TORn IRC server. You can connect instantly via our java chat client that works inside your web browser (find it here! ) or choose to install a dedicated chat program such as mIRC on your computer.

To find out more about using mIRC to connect to TORn IRC server, check out these instructions.

Upcoming topics:

Sun November 13 – The seven deadly sins in LoTR
Sat November 19 – The seven deadly sins in LoTR

Got a topic? Let us know your idea!

If you have a burning desire to discuss something in Hall of Fire, drop us a line with your topic at halloffire@theonering.net. If we like it, we’ll probably give it a run in the coming weeks – you might even get to guest moderate the session!

Posted in Old Special Reports on November 5, 2005 by

Comments are closed.