Get your tickets to Tolkien today!
Join us in our forums!
Check out TheOneRing.net on Twitter!
Join us on Instagram

Latest Tweets

  1. TheOneRing.net
    TheOneRing.net: Smarter minds could probably do a whole tweet thread on Tolkien's exploration of sexuality in the Second Age, and h… https://t.co/CHdDx2Vlk8

  2. TheOneRing.net
    TheOneRing.net: Executives at New Line Cinema, Weta Workshop & Weta Digital attribute the success of the LOTR films to hiring passi… https://t.co/7ujoRatlZH

  3. TheOneRing.net
    TheOneRing.net: We are starting to see casting calls for actors "comfortable with nudity" AMAZON DON'T DO IT DO NOT! This isn't… https://t.co/OimxiDDhGO

Dinotopia author sketches for Weta Workshop

January 16, 2011 at 6:34 pm by Compa_Mighty  - 

James Gurney, author of Dinotopia, the best-selling fantasy series, has just written in his blog about some sketches he did for the folks at Weta. Simon Haupt of Weta’s digital creature department,  gave a gift to the team:  copies of Gurney’s latest book:  Color and Light. Mr. Gurney personally sketched each of the copies. After the jump, you can also find some very nice comments made about the Weta team.

James Gurney is the best-selling author of the Dinotopia series, which was described by the Los Angeles Daily News as “…in the tradition of Jules Verne, H.G. Wells and J.R.R. Tolkien… a triumph of the imagination.” His blog, Gurney Journey, is one the five most visited art blogs in the world. His two art books, Imaginative Realism and Color and Light are among amazon’s best-sellers in the category. Mr. Gurney has also painted for the National Geographic Magazine.

Posted in Uncategorized, WETA Digital, WETA Workshop on January 16, 2011 by Dinotopia author sketches for Weta Workshop | Discuss
Thranduil Statue

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *