Get your tickets to Tolkien today!
Join us in our 24 Hour Chatroom!
Check out TheOneRing.net on Twitter!
Join us on Instagram

Latest Tweets

  1. TheOneRing.net
    TheOneRing.net: Better than this was the Man of Steel teaser using Howard Shore’s epic lament to Gandalf from LOTR under a powerful… https://t.co/5b7Nd8O3mA

  2. TheOneRing.net
    TheOneRing.net: Huge outpouring of disbelief and support for the puppeteers & creatives from #DarkCrystalAgeOfResistance; canceled… https://t.co/s6gpLbt2ND

  3. TheOneRing.net
    TheOneRing.net: Amazon's LOTR series is shaping up to be the Cobra Kai of fantasy. You know what I mean! https://t.co/Lmh8ZwxyAV

Hall of Fire Topic for August 26&27

August 24, 2000 at 7:28 pm by Tookish  - 

Hullo All!

The next Hall of Fire topic for discussion is up. Check it out and head on over this weekend!

Middle-earth and Human History: Comparisons and Contrasts

Being the epic work of literature that it is, The Lord of the Rings has been analyzed through a variety of lenses. One of the appealing qualities of LotR is the historical depth and underpinning present throughout the narrative. We are fortunate indeed to have the Silmarillion chronicling the history of Arda’s creation; no doubt Tolkien fans would love to read about the Fifth and Sixth Ages as well.

Which leads to our topic….. How does Middle-earth compare to the history of humanity? At first blush many may focus on European history, although this is surely only part of the conversation. We will discuss both how Middle-earth’s history is similar to ours, and how it is different. So bring your thinking caps and history trivia and come chat this weekend!

Time: Saturday, August 26, 5:30 p.m. EST (10:30 p.m. GMT) AND Sunday, August 27, 6:00 p.m. GMT (1:00 p.m. EST)

Any thoughts on future topics? Please send ’em here. Thanks!

For details on how to participate, click here.

Posted in Barliman News on August 24, 2000 by
Daggers of Tauriel

Comments are closed.