Support TheOneRing.net - A not for profit fan community!
Join us in our 24 Hour Chatroom!
LEGO Lord of the Rings Collection
Daggers of Tauriel

News Alerts

Get emailed with every new post!

Weekly Newsletter

Select a list:

Hall of Fire tomorrow: Dwarves. Overlooked and under-rated?

August 5, 2011 at 10:54 pm by Demosthenes  - 

Unique of the peoples of Middle-earth, Dwarves are stone-hard and stubborn. As fast in friendship as they are in enmity, they suffer toil and hanger and hurt of body more hardily than all other speaking peoples.

This weekend (at the special time of 6.30pm EDT) Hall of Fire examines the question of whether dwarves are the most underrated and overlooked of the speaking peoples of Middle-earth.

It’s a question that takes on more importance as the production of the Hobbit gathers speed — a production that features not just one, but 13 dwarves in key roles.

With a proud history of massive cities like Nogrod, Belegost and Khazad-dum, smiths such as Telchar and Narvi and feats in battle both glorious (Azanulbizar) and despicable (the sacking of Menegroth), do not dwarves deserve and equal place alongside elves, the Dunedain and Hobbit? And can Peter Jackson’s production of the Hobbit provide that?

Join us on Saturday August 6 at the special time of 6.30pm EDT when we’ll explore all this and more as we ask the question: Dwarves, overlooked and under-rated?

“But when the time comes I will awaken them, and they shall be to thee as children; and often strife shall arise between thine and mine, the children of my adoption and the children of my choice.” The Silmarillion, Of Aule and Yavanna.

Upcoming chats in Hall of Fire

August 6 — Dwarves. Overlooked and Underrated?
August 13 — Hobbit resistance to the One Ring
August 20 — The Hobbit Chapter 10

Time zone conversions

Not sure what time the chat will be where you are? Check this little conversion table out for some help.

America:
6.30pm EDT (New York)
5.30pm CDT (Chicago)
4.30pm MDT (Denver)
3.30pm PDT (Los Angeles)

Europe:
11.30pm GMT (London)
12.30 am CDT (Europe)

Asia-Pacific
8.30am (Sunday) Brisbane, Sydney, Melbourne
11.30am (Sunday) Wellington

Our chats usually last 45 mins to an hour, and are very newbie friendly. Simply drop in and join the conversation!

Where — connection details

Chat happens on #thehalloffire on irc.theonering.net — the TORn IRC server. You can connect instantly via our embedded Mibbit client that works inside your web browser.

Alternatively, you can install a dedicated chat program such as mIRC on your computer and just plug in the following connection details.

Server: irc.theonering.net
Port: 6667
Channel: #thehalloffire

Posted in Barliman News, Barlimans, Hall of Fire on August 5, 2011 by