Support TheOneRing.net - A not for profit fan community!
Join us in our 24 Hour Chatroom!
LEGO Lord of the Rings Collection
The Hobbit LEGO - Now Available!

News Alerts

Get emailed with every new post!

Weekly Newsletter

Select a list:

2011 Mythopoeic Award Winners Announced

July 20, 2011 at 2:57 pm by xoanon  - 

The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature is given to the fantasy novel, multi-volume, or single-author story collection for adults published during 2010 that best exemplifies “the spirit of the Inklings.” Books are eligible for two years after publication if not selected as a finalist during the first year of eligibility. Books from a series are eligible if they stand on their own; otherwise, the series becomes eligible the year its final volume appears. The Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature honors books for younger readers (from “Young Adults” to picture books for beginning readers), in the tradition of The Hobbit or The Chronicles of Narnia. Rules for eligibility are otherwise the same as for the Adult Literature award. The question of which award a borderline book is best suited for will be decided by consensus of the committees.

The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies is given to books on Tolkien, Lewis, and/or Williams that make significant contributions to Inklings scholarship. For this award, books first published during the last three years (2008–2010) are eligible, including finalists for previous years. The Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies is given to scholarly books on other specific authors in the Inklings tradition, or to more general works on the genres of myth and fantasy. The period of eligibility is three years, as for the Inklings Studies award.

The winners of this year’s awards were announced at Mythcon XLII in Albuquerque, New Mexico, on July 17, 2011. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site: http://www.mythsoc.org/awards/

2011 Mythopoeic Award Winners

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature
Karen Lord, Redemption in Indigo (Small Beer Press)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature
Megan Whalen Turner, The Queen’s Thief Series, consisting of The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, The King of Attolia, and A Conspiracy of Kings (Greenwillow Books)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies
Michael Ward, Planet Narnia: The Seven Heavens in the Imagination of C.S. Lewis (Oxford, 2008)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies
Caroline Sumpter, The Victorian Press and the Fairy Tale (Palgrave Macmillan, 2008)

Posted in Books Publications, J.R.R. Tolkien, Lectures & Education, Merchandise, Tolkien on July 20, 2011 by