Support TheOneRing.net - A not for profit fan community!
Join us in our 24 Hour Chatroom!
LEGO Lord of the Rings Collection
Thranduil Statue

News Alerts

Get emailed with every new post!

Weekly Newsletter

Select a list:

Hall Of Fire This Weekend — Essential To The Quest?

October 14, 2005 at 9:02 pm by Demosthenes  - 

Were Legolas, Gimli, Merry and Pippin essential to the quest?

This is the question we will be posing in the Hall of Fire this weekend.

Gimli, the stought-hearted dwarf of Erebor. What is the sum of his contribution to the quest? Is it any more than being Legolas’s passenger on the back of Hasufel and helping Gandalf thread a path through the dark depths of Moria?

Then there’s Legolas, the fleet-footed archer of Mirkwood. Did he do any more than ease the passage through Lothlorien and bring down a Nazgul at Sarn Gebir?

What of Pippin, the youngest member of the fellowship? Was his messing with the Palantir that vital in saving Gandalf from exposure to Sauron? Did he in some way help sustain Denethor for longer and help save Minas Tirith – and Frodo? Or was his presence simply a foolish risk — as exposed by his capture at Amon Hen?

And then there’s Merry, leader of the conspiracy to prevent Frodo from running away from Bag End by himself. But apart from ensuring that Frodo got to Bree without falling into Mordor’s hands, how much did he really accomplish?

These are just a few of the questions that we’ll be posing at what’s sure to be a lively Hall of Fire debate this weekend. So come and join us on Sunday October 16 2pm EDT in #thehalloffire on the TORn IRC server.

Time and date:
Sunday October 16

America:
2pm EDT
1pm CDT
12pm MDT
11am PDT

Europe:
7pm UK
8pm Central Europe

Asia-Pacific:
4am (Monday) Brisbane
4am (Monday) Sydney
6am (Monday) Wellington

Chats usually last 45 mins to an hour, and are very newbie friendly. Simply drop in and join the conversation!

Upcoming topics:
Sun October 16 Were Merry, Pippin, Gimli and Legolas essential to the quest?
Sat October 22 – Silmarillion Ch 14
Sun October 30 – Silmarillion Ch 14
Sat November 5 – Alan Lee live Q&A

Special reminder

Don’t forget our live chat with famed Tolkien illustrator Alan Lee on November 5. Alan will be answering your questions on his work for an hour. However, this chat is sure to be popular, so get your question in early and here! ) or choose to install a dedicated chat program such as mIRC on your computer.

To find out more about using mIRC to connect to TORn IRC server, check out these instructions.

Got a topic? Let us know your idea!

If you have a burning desire to discuss something in Hall of Fire, drop us a line with your topic at halloffire@theonering.net. If we like it, we’ll probably give it a run in the coming weeks – you might even get to guest moderate the session!

Join HoF Announce!

Did you know that Hall of Fire has a mailing list? Join today and get topic announcements and news delivered regularly to your inbox!

Hof-announce@theonering.net
http://www.theonering.net/mailman/listinfo/hof-announce

Posted in Old Special Reports on October 14, 2005 by

Comments are closed.